You Will Never Eat Gummy Bears Again When You Found Out What It’s Made From

Related Articles

Fond of eating gummy bears? Those sweet, small, fruit gum candies which are similar to jelly babies in some English-speaking countries.

As per Wikipedia, the gummy bear candy is about 2 cm or 0.8 in long and of course, shaped in the form of a bear. The gummy bear is one of many gummies and popular gelatin-based candies which are sold in a variety of colors and shapes.

You Will Never Eat Gummy Bears Again When You Found Out What It’s Made From
what are gummy bears made of? / photo credit: vat19

What are Gummy Bears Made of?

If you read the ingredients on the package of gummy bears including organic ones, you will see expected ingredients such as brown rice, corn and sugar. But, you will also see something called gelatin.

Gelatin may seem innocent enough, but its source might surprise you. Gelatin is an odorless, yellowish and nearly tasteless substance that is made by prolonged boiling of skin, cartilage and bones from animals. It is made primarily from the things meat industries have left over. These includes horns, pork skins and cattle bones.

READ  Home Remedies for Housemaid's Knee

You will be thrilled about this, if you are into the philosophy of using the whole animal. Also, gelatin contains 18 amino acids, so offers some nutritional benefits.

But if you are vegan, you will definitely want to skip these chewy candies and your those Jell-O mold, it’s made with gelatin, too. This animal-derived ingredient are also present in some medications, vitamins, marshmallows, yogurts, cheeses, salad dressings, soups, jellies, jams, canned hams and fruit snacks.

If this information grosses you out, you will want to watch out for these products’ food labels.

READ  Mediterranean Diet Could Help Reduce Heart Disease

Read More:
1. Shocking Facts About Your All Time Favorite Potato Chips/
2. Why You Should Put Eggs In Your Salad
3. Top 8 Food Labeling Tricks You Should Be Aware Of

More on this topic


Popular stories